Skip to main content

Error message

  • Deprecated function: ini_set(): Use of mbstring.http_input is deprecated in include_once() (line 568 of /var/www/vhosts/
  • Deprecated function: ini_set(): Use of mbstring.http_output is deprecated in include_once() (line 569 of /var/www/vhosts/
  • Deprecated function: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in _menu_load_objects() (line 569 of /var/www/vhosts/

Anaesthetic Team

Specialist anaesthetists provide pre-operative assessments, operative anaesthesia and monitoring, and post-operative pain control in patients requiring operative intervention in the management of their spinal condition.

Dr Peter Sayers (MBBS, FANZCA)

Dr Peter SayersDr Sayers is an independent specialist anaesthetist who has been in practice in Hobart for over 20 years. He has extensive experience in the anaesthesia of spinal and neurosurgical conditions.



Dr Mathew Yarrow (MBBS (Hons), FANZCA)

Dr Mathew YarrowDr Yarrow is a specialist anaesthetist who trained at the Royal North Shore Hospital Sydney and The Royal Infirmary, Edinburgh.

He commenced anaesthetic practice in Hobart in 2007, and practices in public and private facilities in Hobart.

He has particular interest in neuroanaesthesia, investigation of anaesthetic allergies, and developing world anaesthesia, including teaching in Nepal, Laos, Samoa, and Vietnam, where he was part of a visiting neurosurgical team.


Mr Anders Bown (BMSci, MBBS (Hons), FANZCA)

Anders Bown

Dr Bown is a specialist anaesthetist working in private facilities in Hobart. He completed his specialist training in Queensland and Tasmania. He was awarded the Cecil Gray Prize in 2012 for excellence during his specialist training. He has a particular interest in spinal and neurosurgical anesthesia.